Three day weekend with the kiddos…….

21 May

I’ve had a wonderful three day weekend.  I went to my son’s preschool and they had some firemen bring the fire truck and give a presentation and a tour.  It was so cute all those little kids sitting arround listening to the firemen and then climbing in their truck.  My youngest son got to hang out in the class he was totally happy.  It was really great to be there for that event.

The youngest and I went grocery shopping.  After pre-school I prepped and flee bombed the house.  While we waited for the toxins to clear I took the vacuum out for service, bought birthday gifts for the two party’s we attended later in the weekend and got some ice cream!  Got home and took care of the bombing stuff and made some killer jambalaya.

Waking up groggy after a long night with some minor drama (I’ll fill you in later) my Ex went to work and I took the boys to a parade.  We had a great time and then came home and worked on the laundry and cleaning up after the bomb.  Then my Dad and I worked on the trench for the french drain while I barbecued tri-tip with potatoes and corn cooked on the grill.  We got the thing all dug out and put the pipe in there.  Now I just need to make sure it’s graded right, add plastic lining and fill it up.  Later that night some more weirdness that I will again address in another post.

Sunday was birthday day.  I fought my hangover and got up early and made some killer breakfast burritos with chorizo.  We cleaned up the house and ran out and got a last minute gift for our first party (I had bought one for a girl that is older originally, oops).  We got there and the boys had a blast and the hosting Mommy is a girl I’ve had a crush on for a while.  She looked super cute and it was a lot of fun.  We left after my boys put the hurt on the pinata.  My youngest is three and is full of personality and he has never had a hair cut.  His long hair and boisterous attitude stole the show (as usual).  Our next party there were a lot of cool fun people the boys again had a great time.  At both parties the girls mentioned how they usually get to spend time with Rick but they are very happy to talk with me for a change.  That was super nice to hear especially with my nervousness on facing the world on my own with very few strong friendships. 

 

8 Responses to “Three day weekend with the kiddos…….”

  1. sexuallifeofawife May 21, 2012 at 9:20 pm #

    Sounds like all is good!

  2. dawninflux May 22, 2012 at 1:02 am #

    “…facing the world on my own with very few strong friendships….”

    So many of us feel this too. See, this is how healthy we can be, we can we together in aloneness! 🙂

    *Hugs to you*

    • terriblytorn13 May 22, 2012 at 9:55 am #

      Thanks Dawn! You are so very sweet. I really appreciate your kind words.
      Hugs right back!

    • itsjustme86 May 25, 2012 at 1:03 pm #

      Omgosh… this line rang exactly true for me as well. It is just what I am feeling a trying to not be afraid of either~

      • terriblytorn13 May 28, 2012 at 7:48 pm #

        It can be hard to get out of my comfort zone to create those friendships I crave. It’s something I need to work on for sure. Thank you for your comment!

  3. The Hook May 22, 2012 at 3:50 pm #

    This sounds like a step in the right direction…
    Good for you!

Leave a Reply

