Kinda like it used to be….

17 Feb

I don’t know if you recall a recent post where I’d missed going to a show because I was feeling…um…well…crazy.  Well the same two artists were playing later in the week.  My fiancé called me and said he talked to our friend (my girl crush) and she would be there with her eight year old daughter.  He called a couple of our other friends to invite them out as well. 

He had dinner ready when I got home.  We got there and our friend greeted us warmly.  I danced with the boys and the artists sounded great.  Some other folks I know were there and I got to say hi.  I only felt a little awkward.  I hung close to the boys. I’ve grown to feel like I need to be the one to mind them when I’m out with my fiancé.

He mingled the artists and our friends.  Everyone loves him.  He’s so friendly and engaging.  When it was time to go we gave hugs and good byes and everyone says we should get together, bowl, have beers, barbecue, take the kids to the park. 

He was so sweet to put this together thinking of me.  He becomes so charming and personable.  It’s times like these that leave me baffled.

8 Responses to “Kinda like it used to be….”

  1. LiesHurtMySanity February 17, 2012 at 1:58 pm #

    Mine does the same! He’s an insufferable whiny prick and then turns around and charms everyone everywhere and I feel like, “Wow. Why do I only see the insufferable whiny prick side? What’s wrong with my eyes?” 😛

    • terriblytorn13 February 19, 2012 at 12:54 pm #

      It is so frustrating. It’s not your eyes it’s his behavior. If he’s anything like my fiance he changes when he’s around others.

      • LiesHurtMySanity February 19, 2012 at 7:32 pm #

        He’s an amazing, engaging, personable and intelligent man in public. And a whiny lazy manipulator in private.

  2. wrongedandrighted February 17, 2012 at 2:57 pm #

    I have those “Where the hell has this person been?” moments. Sadly they have happened with less and less frequency over the course of the past few years, but it’s all the more bothersome to know that that person still exists somewhere within my wife and she just chooses not to share that with me everyday.
    It is the ultimate in frustration when you see the brief glimpse of the person you knew and loved for a fleeting instant and then it’s gone.
    Hopefully he’ll start to have more moments like that, I just hope it doesn’t create too much inner turmoil for you as you try to decide if you can love him as you once did.

    • terriblytorn13 February 19, 2012 at 1:07 pm #

      It does make it harder. I keep leaning towards breaking things off and then he is so sweet and vulnerable. It leaves me feeling superficial and cold.
      Are you considering breaking things off with your wife?

      • wrongedandrighted February 19, 2012 at 1:34 pm #

        I plead the 5th, lol.

  3. The Hook February 26, 2012 at 6:06 am #

    I don’t blame you for being confused!

Leave a Reply

