Big box doesn’t like little problems…..

7 Jan

Health insurance can be so aggravating!  I’m part of a big box health insurer and they don’t seem to have many resources for therapy. I just contacted their triage officer who asked me a few questions and started to get hung up on on the drug portion of my saga. The only drugs my fiancé is taking consistently is pain meds prescribed by the same big box healthcare provider that I’m on the phone with.

They say to me they will find me a therapist but, ” We’re really not a weekly session type place.”. They see people every three or two weeks depending on the patient and therapist. If I want to be seen more often I could join a group session with other people trying to work out their problems. I’m sure this is very helpful for some situations but for mine I’m thinking it’s really not what I need.

Now the triage officer’s got enough info he will direct me to someone one. He says, “Well I’m all booked up it might be up to three weeks untill I can get you someone to talk with unless….”Unless I go into a substance abuse type counseling then they could see me in a few days. 

To be fair they did ask me if I was feeling violent or suicidal.  Since I’m honestly not, I told the truth and got pushed to the not important waiting list.  They also asked if I was at risk of physical harm from my fiance, again I am not so to the back of the list I go.

I guess I’ll try the self help approach untill I can be seen. I follow A Blogger in Turmoil and in the comments the group has discussed a book that might help.  The book is Too Good to Leave, Too Bad to Stay by Mira Kirshenbaum.  Now I just need to find a way to read it in secret.

11 Responses to “Big box doesn’t like little problems…..”

  1. sexuallifeofawife January 7, 2012 at 12:10 pm #

    I did group therapy once. It was shite! But I guess other people have found it helpful otherwise it wouldn’t still go on…
    Sounds the perfect book for you ; )

    • terriblytorn13 January 7, 2012 at 2:00 pm #

      I like reading you cuss with an accent!

      Yep, the group therapy thing sounds like it’s not made for my current problem.

      • sexuallifeofawife January 7, 2012 at 2:03 pm #

        Ha ha, my husband is Irish – so I pick up the odd bit of lingo from him; )

  2. confessionsofyourhusbandsmistress January 7, 2012 at 1:47 pm #

    Does your employer have an Employee Assitance Program? It was through our health care provider, but it was free for awhile. It doesn’t take care of long term issues though.

    • terriblytorn13 January 7, 2012 at 4:33 pm #

      We’ve been bought out a few times; I know that the old company did. I’ll have to do some looking. I don’t like my big box healthcare options so far.
      Great idea, thank you!

  3. f#@*knows January 7, 2012 at 11:47 pm #

    Hey,

    Thanks for the link back.

    Would you like the audiobook?

  4. The Hook January 8, 2012 at 12:03 pm #

    I really enjoyed this little departure from the norm! Well done.

  5. mzklever January 22, 2012 at 6:03 am #

    Be sure to read “Women Who Love Too Much” and “Why Does He Do That?”

    Your fiance’s situation is NOT your fault. Everyone has to take personal responsibility. He’s an adult. You didn’t force him to not have any skills. He made that choice.

    Bypass your insurance company and call Catholic Family Services, or Jewish Family Services, or see if the United Way offers therapy near you. You don’t have to be Catholic or Jewish to be one of their clients. You will likely have to wait, but three weeks is better than never, right?

    • terriblytorn13 January 23, 2012 at 10:03 am #

      Thank you for the book recommendations. I’m currently listening to an audio book Too good to leave to Bad to Stay that FK sent to me. It’s been interesting so far.

      I know no one can make anyone do anything, my guilt lies in letting it ride. I feel like if I’d complained more or really left him that he might have grown from it.

      I have my first therapy session this upcoming Thursday but I will probably check into your suggestions. I’m getting the impression that the therapy provided by my insurer is more geared toward serious psychological problems or substance abuse. A back up might be in order here.

Leave a Reply

