What a Christmas….

28 Dec

What a whirlwind of holiday fun.  I had taken last week off my day job and was only working nights at the toy store.  I had a great time hanging with my kids and my fiancé was being more of a help than usual.  Just like always I was tight on funds and had to do the bulk of my Christmas shopping on the 23rd when my paycheck came.  I’m not sure what my fiancé was up too that night because I was too caught up in baking.  I made a late night trip to the supermarket and did a good amount of the wrapping with him while we put Dexter on the tube. 

Christmas eve I worked untill about 5:30pm.  The boys and my fiancé delivered the cookies to our neighbors. To my surprise I came home to a clean house!  I thanked him and we were off to my Aunt and Uncles for dinner and cocktails.  I was planning on doing some drinking then finishing up all the Christmas stuff.  Well things got off track.  The boys and I had a great time at my family’s home.  I was taking shots with my Uncle and got a bit tipsy.  My Mom (also drinking) started to grill my fiancé. Basicaly giving him a hard time about the stresses that get put on me.  Well that put him in a bad mood and he wanted to go while I wanted to stay.  I’m guessing we left at about 11ish.  Things got fuzzy because, well I was drunk. 

At home I put the boys down and was snuggling them.  I might have dozed off in the chair where I read them their stories.  I remember my fiancé giving me shit about this.  I was offended so went to my room and looked up some info on my smart phone for tomorrows dinner that I would be cooking.  I again dozed off.  I don’t remember what happened but I think he stated talking shit about my Mom who I defended.  He kept going so I started in on his whole family.  Tacky I know but this always happens he starts in on my family and won’t quit untill I go to far talking about his. 

Now I’m in no mood to be around him,  I text my lover something about being drunk, miserable and that I’m looking forward to getting drunk again tomorrow.  Then a half an hour later maybe 1:30am-ish.  I text him again Merry Christmas and I love him.  Then I’m back out again.

I woke up at 6am in a panic.  I had wrapping and stockings and food to prepare and I failed it all.  I ran out to see that my fiancé had done it all (except the food stuff).  He was so upset with me he had not tried to wake me up to help after our last fight. Part of me was so relived but the guilt was so heavy on me that I had trouble sleeping. 

Everything went well.  The boys had a great time opening gifts, I got the food prepped in the morning.  My Dad and his girlfriend came over brining even more gifts for the boys.  We were over an hour late to my Mom’s where the rest of the family was waiting.  It worked out anyway and  brunch was awesome. 

 I felt a little bad because my fiancé only got a BBQ sauce kit from my Mom and StepDad.  I understood why, but it sucked to know his heart would hurt because of all this.  I also didn’t wrap his gift from me and the last-minute gift I got for the boys to give to him.  I was also supposed to wrap the gifts his Mom had mailed and I didn’t but he wrapped the Fed Ex bags so there was still a surprise for him. 

That night I handled all the cooking.  Dinner wasn’t perfect but it was still tasty.  Friends came over for cocktails. We stayed up late and drank and partied.  I’m really glad the friends came over. 

No matter how much my fiancé drives me crazy and makes my life harder than it has to be I still don’t want his heart to hurt on Christmas.  We did our best to have a nice day and night.  I think it worked out OK.  With him being the hero and setting up Christmas I’m sure I won’t hear the end of how selfish I am for not holding up my end but at least he will have the pride of knowing he pulled it off all by himself.  That’s gotta count for something.     

Hopefully this will be the last year I go into the season unprepared but I think I say that every year.  At least I got the decorating done early.

7 Responses to “What a Christmas….”

  1. The Hook December 28, 2011 at 1:15 pm #

    A new year brings new hope, my lovely friend! Take heart, better days are ahead for you and your boys.

    • terriblytorn13 December 28, 2011 at 1:51 pm #

      It will be what we make it. Thanks for the nice note Hook!

      • sexuallifeofawife December 28, 2011 at 3:03 pm #

        Eeek 6am and wrapping and stockings to do… that must have given you a shock! Its great that your Fiance did pull it off by himself.
        I’m glad you mostly had a good time apart from the fighting etc.
        Nice!

  2. terriblytorn13 December 28, 2011 at 4:12 pm #

    I was so thankfull. I tried to tell myself he had to save something himself. That I’ve been taking care so much, but no matter what I told myself I felt so deeply guity and upset with myself. It was hard for me to write but I felt I should be honest.

  3. Jenna December 28, 2011 at 6:55 pm #

    It sounds like overall a great time for everyone. I’m sorry for the pain your fiance had though. My family had a tendancy to go too far in criticizing my ex. I always got frustrated because whatever he and I were going through was our business, not theirs.

    I hope the New Year celebration is full of more laughter and love!

    • terriblytorn13 December 29, 2011 at 8:55 am #

      Yes, my family can put him in the hot seat too. This time however I think he opened the can of worms himself. We were talking about my stepsister’s graduation from nursing school and my cousins up coming graduation from the university and he pipes up with he never needed his high school diploma. Not really the right choice of words when I’ve been working two jobs to make sure we had a nice Holliday with running water.

      I’m looking forward to New Years. I’m trying to be more social so I’ve invited some friends with kids over. I hope my little house holds all the fun!

  4. sexuallifeofawife December 29, 2011 at 5:15 am #

    Its great that you can be thankful to him for something I guess… ; )

Leave a Reply

