Music and mayhem….

9 Nov

Whoo hoo!  Had a great time last night.  Went and saw a show and a new local venue.  I made an executive decision to spend $20 bucks and have some fun!  The Koffin Kats played with some other awesome bands at warehouse that just started having shows about two months ago.  The crowd was mostly younger Punks with a handful of Rockabilly types.  I was good and stayed out of the pit.  My fiancé came, I’ve been telling him about this venue.  They’ve had some no name hardcore bands come through. I’ve been trying to get him to go (since I couldn’t go) and he always seemed put off by the no name bands at a new venue in a bad neighborhood. 

We met a few of the folks that run the joint and chatted with the crowd.  My mind kept coming back to Tom.  I’m thinking he would love the place and the crowd.  When I told him about the show I mentioned the 2nd band who I was not familiar with and he knew them right away.  The place was covered in graffiti and had a nice upstairs loungy area with an interesting selection of books.  It was BYOB making it a very cost-effective night! 

I hope I can go to more shows there and make some new friends.  The crew we hang out with is cool but they don’t fit with my interests.  They prefer Techno to Hard Core.  Louis Vuittan to Lucky 13.  Acra to Chevy.  Don’t get me wrong there is a bunch of other stuff we connect on but I’d love to find some folks that match a bit better with my tastes. 

6 Responses to “Music and mayhem….”

  1. lostinthearmsofdestiny November 9, 2011 at 11:28 pm #

    Hi,

    I have just nominated you for the Versatile Bloggers Award.
    See my home page if you are interested in accepting etc…

    -Marie

    • terriblytorn13 November 10, 2011 at 10:01 am #

      I am honored you thought of me Marie.
      Thank you!!!

  2. The Hook November 10, 2011 at 7:09 am #

    Great executive decision! Keep making more of the same!

    • terriblytorn13 November 10, 2011 at 9:55 am #

      I love live music. Nothing like a good show to lift your spirts and bring you together with new people. I can’t wait for my next chance to see a show at that venue!

  3. Sad Man's Tongue: Rockabilly Bar & Bistro November 10, 2011 at 11:41 am #

    It reminds me of a place in Munich where they do some live music in a warehouse.

    • terriblytorn13 November 10, 2011 at 2:04 pm #

      Sounds like fun. I love a good warehouse show. I hope this place can stay open. Many venues in my area don’t take a lot of risk booking unknown bands

Leave a Reply

