Donna Reed eats dollar bills…..

26 Sep

I’ve been trying to focus on my home life.  Though I can’t get Tom out of my mind I know I need to step back or something really bad will happen.  I’m not sure what really bad is but I’d rather not find out.  I was lucky enough to have a 4 day weekend and I went for it like a modern-day Donna Reed.  I cleaned, organised, did yard work and maitenence.  Made breakfast lunch and dinner every day.  Laundry, oh the laundry!  I took the boys on an awesome hike.  We had so much fun chasing frog and lizards.  We climbed and bounced on trees.  On the way home they were pooped and when we got home they could not stop talking about our adventures! 

I’ve mentioned before my Fiance has not worked for a long while and is a spender.  Well this has finally become a problem.  With his messed up knee and laundry list of medications and aliments he is unable to work and has not found any other means of supporting the family (or his spending habits).  It’s come to the point where I’m applying for a night job.  I work full time and my job has good pay but it’s still not enough.  It’s not only embarrassing to have to work a 2nd job but to say my Fiance doesn’t work and has no income leaves me open to get a lot of opinions and weird looks.  Strangely enough last time this happened ( I was pregnant) the only job that I could find was inventory for minimum wage.  I hope that is not the case this time.  Needless to say this doesn’t make it any easier to work on my relationship with him.

10 Responses to “Donna Reed eats dollar bills…..”

  1. sexuallifeofawife September 26, 2011 at 1:46 pm #

    I completely understand about being the only breadwinner – it has happened with me and my husband alot over the years… Do you think you’re fiance would work if he was well?
    You are going to lose out if you have a 2nd job by seeing you’re kids even less. They seem to have a great time with you! Can your fiance spend less? Is there anything that he could possibly do from home? Or can he just not get it together to work full stop?
    You’ve probably asked him and yourself all these questions already…

    • terriblytorn13 September 26, 2011 at 3:48 pm #

      This is one of those things I could have seen coming. He has always had trouble keeping a job. Doesn’t really have a “profession” either all of his jobs have been in different fields. Yes, I think he would work but I can’t say it would last long. The spending, he just doesn’t get it. He talks about trying to work from home but nothing ever comes of it.

      • sexuallifeofawife September 27, 2011 at 6:06 am #

        I can understand why you don’t feel like working on the relationship because of the job thing… Has he got good points? Like is he a good father? I know you’ve mentioned that he doesn’t do as much housework as you – does he try?

  2. The Hook September 27, 2011 at 6:05 am #

    Hang in there, young lady. You may have to make some hard choices – and soon – but for now, just keep moving forward.

  3. sexuallifeofawife September 27, 2011 at 6:08 am #

    Oh, and does he love you?

    • sexuallifeofawife September 27, 2011 at 6:17 am #

      Sorry, to take up so much of this page but…
      Do you or have you ever had any love for him?

      • terriblytorn13 September 27, 2011 at 7:39 am #

        That’s OK I need to think about these things. I loved him with all of my heart. We met and fell in love when we were 17 & 18. For the longest time I thought we were the perfect match. I have talked about division of house work and he firmly believes he does enough I think it’s unbalanced and want plan but the conversation turns into a fight. He is a great cook! He’s good to the boys. They are happy heathy and bright. He says he still loves me, he says I’m beautiful and he kisses me and touches me often. He seems to think my standards are too high now.

  4. sexuallifeofawife September 28, 2011 at 12:10 am #

    If you ever want to work on the relationship then there is hope because you once did love him… But we all change… Great that he still likes you and has some good points though….
    For now – good advice from ‘The Hook’

  5. lostinthearmsofdestiny September 29, 2011 at 5:54 am #

    You should get him on board to working from home. Because of his knee. If he won’t then maybe as your second job. You should try working at home. That way you can spend more time with your kids.
    Can’t you try for disability for your fiance? That way if all else fails he’s pulling in that?

    -Marie

    • terriblytorn13 September 29, 2011 at 9:40 am #

      Great ideas, I would love to! He says he can’t qualify for disablity because of my income. I am tired of holding his hand to do everything but it sounds like I need to take over his applying for disablity too. He has talked about working from home but isn’t really looking. Again it feels like I need to do it for him to make anything happen. I’m running out of patience.

Leave a Reply

