Just like my Mom…..

28 Jul

People say you’re going to turn out like your parents. It’s something that I always shrugged off thinking no way I’m totally different. Now looking at my life and my Mom’s I’m starting to wonder if I was very wrong. My Mom I’ve heard was a bit of a party girl, of course I was a party girl. I took it way further than she did though. She met my Dad when they were young and were together since they were teenagers. Check, met my fiancé in continuation school. My Mom always worked, my Mom’s family helped them with a down payment for their first house. Same here. They had kids in their late 20’s. My Dad started not working, not helping around the house, name calling, drinking heavily and being distant. Yes, my fiancé doesn’t work, does a poor job around the house, he doesn’t drink like my Dad but he takes pills and smokes weed. After dinner he disappears untill late at night. My Mom and Dad split up when I was about 10 my little bro was about 8. Me and Tom have talked about being together, for real and our discussion was maybe not right now but who knows what will happen in 5 years or so. Guess how old my kids will be then. Right?? OK, my Mom is happily engaged to a hard-working, dedicated guy who is super nice and enjoys the outdoors and is very different from my Dad. He has been married 2x’s already. Tom’s currently on his 2nd marriage. It might all mean nothing at all, but wow it sure is weird.

4 Responses to “Just like my Mom…..”

  1. The Hook December 5, 2011 at 11:20 am #

    Life has a strange sense of humor, right?

    • terriblytorn13 December 5, 2011 at 12:14 pm #

      Yes it does! I just wish the joke wasn’t always on me. (OK that’s silly, it’s not always on me but sometimes it does feel like that is the case)

  2. mzklever December 6, 2011 at 2:58 am #

    It’s called repeating your family of origin. You surround yourself with what you are familar. By staying with your fiance, you are subconciously telling your boys that this is normal, this is how daddies are, this is an okay way to act. You have to seriously think about whether or not you want your boys to grow up to be just like their father.

    • terriblytorn13 December 6, 2011 at 10:51 am #

      I do worry about that often. They have asked me why Daddy doesn’t work and why I do the cleaning. They ask why I have to work so much. I’m always wondering if it will get better. Maybe it’s the pain, maybe it’s the diabetes, maybe if I laid out a better plan for him to follow.

      My Dad still pines for my Mom. I always thought that my fiancé would hear those conversations and see himself in my Dad’s place. Constantly kicking himself for letting his family and the love of his life slip away when all he had to do is work a little harder and be a little nicer.

Leave a Reply

